Times sure have Changed!

As of recently I have been watching my twelve year old cousin. Being the cool cousin I am she feels comfortable to talk me about things. Now I remember being her age and I definitely wasn’t concerned about how many likes I get on an Instagram post or if my crush opened my Snapchat. When I was 12 I was worried about my basketball practices, and hanging out with friends after school! She explained to me that it is hard to turn off the social media, and she finds herself wanting to check it constantly.  I’m happy to say that she and I both turned our phones off for a bit to take a break. She told me that even in school she finds it tough to even focus with her phone on, and that throughout the day her classmates are constantly on their phones.

She also told me about the couples that are together at her age.That it is completely normal for 12 year olds to go “all the way” with their boyfriend or girlfriend. I was shocked this was not a thing when I was her age. Then I was concerned that she was involved in sexual activity too! She assured me that she knows that she’s not ready for that. Which makes me ask, do her classmates think they are ready for that or feel pressured to act like they are ready?  Also are parents and teachers fully preparing these kids for what comes with being sexually active?

My cousin informed me on many topics that surprised me but this took the cake. At her age I had a “boyfriend” but I didn’t know what that meant. We would hug goodbye at the end of the day, and get each other candygrams. I don’t think we ever had an actual conversation because we were too nervous around each other.

I think the kids should revert back to the old ways and just be awkward with each other!

Thanks for stopping by!!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

